UN Certified Container

UN Approved Containers: A Quality Mark for Safe Transportation of Dangerous Goods

UN approved containers are containers that have been marked with the UN certification logo. The UN logo is a quality mark that ensures packaging meets the highest standards for safety and durability and that it is suitable for the transportation of dangerous goods. UN certification is only given when packaging falls within the ADR regulation.

The ADR (Agreement concerning the International Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road) regulation is an international agreement that sets out the rules for the safe transportation of dangerous goods by road. It is one of the most comprehensive and widely adopted regulations in the world, and is used by countries all over the globe.

This agreement is a series of conditions. The key article states that apart from some excessively dangerous goods, other dangerous goods may be carried internationally in road vehicles subject to compliance with certain conditions regarding the packaging, the labelling and the vehicle. The ADR is regularly updated and full information regarding the regulations can be found at the UNECE website.

The ADR regulation states that all dangerous goods must be transported in UN Approved packaging. UN Approved containers are essential for the safe transportation of dangerous goods. They help to protect people, property, and the environment from the risks associated with these materials.

UN Containers at Victoria Packaging

Victoria Packaging offers a wide range of UN certified containers for solids and granulates, from 3 to 60 litres. The buckets available in UN material are from our Premium range or from our Screw Top range. Our UN certified packaging meets the strictest UN standards for this class of materials which provides certainty and peace of mind for our customers.

UN 5 litre Bucket - Metal Handle

Our UN containers are tested by an independent laboratory to show they are approved to contain hazardous materials.

They undergo four key tests which are:

the drop test

the leak proof test

the stacking test

the hydrostatic pressure (vapour pressure) test